Coolhaze

by Studio Braun

Premieres 04/12/2021

SchauSpielHaus

Dates

Show all events

Show all events

1982. We are in the middle of the shooting of the action thriller »Coolhaze«. The despotic, yet successful director Blasius "Buggy" Parmalat envisions a movie between cinema blockbuster and sophisticated avant-garde film. Charles Bronson is in the title role, Brandenburg becomes New York, and the horses turn into two motorcycles which Coolhaze wants to bring to New Jersey. When the corrupt policeman Coby Burner, Coolhaze's high school rival, confiscates the bikes, the righteous used car dealer fights back so determinedly that the private dispute turns into a merciless feud on the streets of New York. Just like the plot, so does the film shooting get out of hand. Parmalat directs so ruthlessly that it doesn’t take long for the atmosphere to be completely poisoned. When he starts to humiliate the entire team, things get worse. Who is going to lose it first? Will there be a showdown between Bronson and his director?
Studio Braun interweaves Charles Bronson's vigilante thriller »A Man Sees Red« with Heinrich von Kleist's revenge epic »Michael Kohlhaas«. At the heart of the play are a jazz big band who whip the action through the evening in the style of big action-movie soundtracks.

With: Heinz Strunk, Samuel Weiss, Rica Blunck, Ute Hannig, Jonas Hien, Charly Hübner, Josefine Israel, Jacques Palminger, Jens Rachut, Rocko Schamoni, Holger Stockhaus Orchestra: Lieven Brunckhorst, Ali Busse, Elen Harantyuanan, Niklas Hardt, Sebastian Hoffmann, Martin Hornung, Philipp Kacza, Lisa Lammel, Michael Leuschner, Ruth May, Natascha Protze, Sönke Rust, Hanno Stick, Claas Ueberschär, Taco von Hettinga Extra: Frederik Börner, Catherine Claussen, Dennis Feuerhacke, Jarryd Haynes, Ursula Merkel, Maximilian Posny, Sophie Riva, Bettina Woitt

Directed by: Studio Braun Stage Design: Stéphane Laimé Costume Design: Dorle Bahlburg Lightning Design: Rebekka Dahnke Music: Studio Braun, Sebastian Hoffmann Musical direction: Sebastian Hoffmann Video: Jan Speckenbach Animation: Luis August Krawen Choreography: Rica Blunck Live-Camera: Philip Jestädt Boom operator: Michal Szpula Dramaturgy: Bastian Lomsché Scriptgirl Nadine: Victoria Voigt
Recommendations

Coolhaze

von Studio Braun / Repertoire

Premiere 14/03/2020

SchauSpielHaus

Termine

14/
03/Sa SchauSpielHaus / Premiere

1982. Wir befinden uns mitten in den Dreharbeiten zum Actionthriller »Coolhaze«. Dem despotischen Erfolgsregisseur schwebt in seiner Adaption von Heinrich von Kleists »Michael Kohlhaas“ ein Machwerk zwischen Kinoblockbuster und niveauvollem Avantgardefilm vor. Für die Titelrolle konnte er Charles Bronson gewinnen, aus Brandenburg wird New York und aus den Pferden zwei Motorräder, die Coolhaze nach New Jersey überführen will. Als der korrupte Polizist Coby Burner, Coolhaze’ Rivale aus der Highschool, die Bikes eigenmächtig konfisziert, wehrt sich der rechtschaffene Gebrauchtwagenhändler so entschieden, dass aus der privaten Fehde ein gnadenloser Feldzug auf den Straßen New Yorks wird. Analog zur Filmhandlung geraten auch die Dreharbeiten aus den Fugen. Der Regisseur inszeniert so rücksichtslos, dass schon nach kurzer Zeit die Atmosphäre vollkommen vergiftet ist. Als er anfängt das gesamte Team zu demütigen, spitzt sich die Lage zu. Wann platzt wem der Kragen? Kommt es zu einem Showdown zwischen Bronson und seinem Regisseur?
Das Herzstück dieser neuen Inszenierung von Jacques Palminger, Rocko Schamoni und Heinz Strunk bildet eine Jazz-Bigband, die im Stil der großen Actionfilm-Soundtracks die Handlung durch den Abend peitscht.

Illustration: Rocket&Wink



Regie: Studio Braun Bühne: Stéphane Laimé Kostüme: Dorle Bahlburg Musik: Sebastian Hoffmann, Studio Braun Musikalische Leitung: Sebastian Hoffmann Video: Meika Dresenkamp Choreografie: Rica Blunck Licht: Rebekka Dahnke Dramaturgie: Bastian Lomsché
Empfehlungen